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Dear Florida Pharmacy Permit Applicant, 
 
 Thank you for applying for a pharmacy permit in the State of Florida.  The information in 
this packet has been designed to provide the essential information required to process your 
application in a timely manner.  Your assistance in providing all required information will enable 
the Florida Board of Pharmacy (the board) staff to process your application as soon as possible.  
You are encouraged to apply as early as possible, to avoid delays due to a large volume of 
applicants. 
 
 Florida Statutes require a completed application and fees before your application can be 
reviewed.  Please read these instructions carefully and fully before submitting the application.  
You should keep a copy of the completed application and all other materials sent to the board 
office for your records.  When you mail the completed application and fees, use the address 
noted in the instructions and on the application form. 
 
 When your application arrives, your fees will be deposited and verified before the staff 
review can begin.  You will receive a letter acknowledging receipt of your application.  The staff 
will notify you within 30 days if any materials are incomplete. 
 
 If you need to communicate with the board staff, you are encouraged to email the board 
staff at mqa_pharmacy@doh.state.fl.us, or you may at call us at (850) 245-4292.  Phone calls 
are returned within 24 hours and emails are responded to within 48 hours during normal 
business hours.  Our staff is committed to providing prompt and reliable information to our 
customers.  Many procedures have been streamlined to expedite the processing of applications; 
we certainly welcome your comments on how our services may be improved. 
 

Sincerely, 
 
 
 
The Board of Pharmacy 
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Internet Pharmacy Permit Application Information 
 
Whether opening a new establishment, changing locations, or changing owners, a pharmacy 
permit is required prior to operating in the State of Florida.  The permit application must be 
completed and returned to the Florida Board of Pharmacy with the required fee of $255.00.  The 
application MUST have the original signatures of the owner or officer of the establishment and 
the Prescription Department Manager (PDM).   
 
An Internet Pharmacy as authorized by Section 465.0197, F.S., is required for any location not 
otherwise licensed or issued a permit under this chapter, within or outside this state that uses 
the Internet to communicate with or obtain information from consumers and uses the information 
to fill or refill prescriptions or to dispense, distribute, or otherwise engage in the practice of 
pharmacy in this state. 
 
The Internet Pharmacy Permit is open at least 6 days per week for a minimum of 40 hours per 
week. A toll-free telephone number shall be provided to facilitate communication between 
patients in this state and a pharmacist in the pharmacy who has access to the patient’s records. 
 
Application Processing 
 
Please read all application instructions before completing your application. 
 

1) Please mail the application and the $255.00 application fee (check or money 
order made payable to the FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH) to the 
following address: 

 
Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 
P.O. Box 6320 
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6320 

 
OR, use the following address if you are using express mail: 

 
Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-04 
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3254 

 
Within 30 days of receipt of your application and fees, the board office will notify you of the 
receipt of your application, any required documents, and your status.  If the application is 
complete, you will be notified that an inspector will contact you to setup an inspection 
appointment.  Please do not contact the board office concerning your inspection date, and allow 
30 days for the inspector to contact you.  If you have not been contacted by the inspector within 
30 days, then notify the board.  If your application is incomplete, you will be notified in writing of 
what is required to make your application complete. 
 

      2)   Submit a set (two) fingerprint cards and appropriate fee with the application. 
 
Section 465.022(3)(a), Florida Statutes requires the applicant to submit a set of fingerprints and 
$48 from the PDM, all owners/officers who have ownership interest of 5 percent or greater and 
who, directly or indirectly, manages, oversees, or controls the operation pharmacy unless the 
corporation has more than $100 million of business taxable assets in this state.  If the 
corporation has more than $100 million of business taxable assets in this state, the department 
shall only require the PDM and a representative of the corporation to submit a set of fingerprints 
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and the $48.00 processing fee (section 465.022(3)(a)(1), Florida Statutes).  The applicant must 
submit proof if claiming more than $100 million in business taxable assets.  If the fingerprints of 
the representative of the corporation are on file with DOH or AHCA, the requirement to submit 
fingerprints is satisfied if you provide proof that the fingerprints are clear and on file. 
 
Failure to submit fingerprint cards will delay your application.  You may obtain your fingerprint 
cards (FD-258) and have them rolled from your local law enforcement agency.  When you 
contact your local law enforcement agency, confirm that they have the FD-258 fingerprint card 
available.  If the FD-258 card is unavailable, you may order blank fingerprint cards for a fee at 
http://www.fldoh.sofn.net .  Please attach a Fingerprint Form to each fingerprint card prior to 
mailing the card to the Board.  The form is located on the website at 
www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/pharmacy under Applicant Information, Pharmacy Permit Forms. 
 
All applicants are required to log on to the internet site: www.fldoh.sofn.net to enter profile 
information.  Entering your profile information is free.  Print out the resulting barcode sheet, and 
mail the barcode sheet with your completed fingerprint cards to our office address below: 
 
Florida Board of Pharmacy 
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-04 
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3254 
 
We will scan your fingerprint card to complete your biometric data.  If you do not have access to 
the internet at home or work, you can use a computer at your local public library. 
Handle your fingerprint card with the utmost care and mail it to our address in a flat envelope.  
Smudged, folded, or bent cards may result in rejected results making resubmission necessary. 
 

3) Attestation for Business Taxable Assets  
  
If the applicant has more than $100 million dollars of business taxable assets in this state, 
please submit a formal opinion letter from a Certified Public Accountant duly licensed in the 
state of your principle place of business affirming the corporation has more than $100 million of 
business taxable assets in this state for the previous tax year.  In lieu of submitting a formal 
opinion letter from a Certified Public Accountant, the applicant may submit its Florida Corporate 
Income/Franchise and Emergency Excise Tax Return (Form F-1120, Effective 01/09). 
 
Licensure Process 
 
Once the application is deemed complete, the board staff authorizes an inspection.  Upon 
completion of the inspection, the inspector notifies the board office as to whether the inspection 
was satisfactory or unsatisfactory.  If the inspection is satisfactory, a permit number is issued 
within 10 days.  Please wait 10 days from your satisfactory inspection before checking on 
the status of your permit.  You may lookup your license number on our website at 
http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa under “Lookup Licensee.”   
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Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 

  
The DEA will not issue a registration until the Florida Board of Pharmacy has issued a 
pharmacy permit.   
 
If controlled substances will be involved in your pharmacy practice, you must make an 
Application for Registration under the Controlled Substance Act of 1970 with the DEA.  If 
possible, you are encouraged to use the on-line form system provided by the DEA.  Information 
is available by visiting their website at http://www.DEAdiversion.usdoj.gov.  DEA Form 224 may 
be obtained in paper form by writing to: 
 
Drug Enforcement Administration 
Attn: ODR PO Box 2639 
Springfield, VA 22152-2639  
 
Mail completed DEA Form 224 via U.S. Postal service to the address listed on the form.   
 
Contact DEA at 1-800-667-9752 or 954-306-4654 for information on change of location or 
change of name.  
 

If your pharmacy does change locations, you are required to have a pharmacy inspection prior 
to operating in the new location.  
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PRE-INSPECTION CHECKLIST 
 
 
 
_____ Is there an adequate sink in workable condition that is easily accessible to the 

prescription counter that will be available during the hours when the prescription 
department is normally open for business pursuant to Rule 64B16-28.102, 
F.A.C.? 

  
_____ Is the pharmacy department equipped an area suitable for private patient  

counseling if applying for a Internet Pharmacy permit pursuant to Rule 64B16-
28.1035, F.A.C.? 

 
_____ Are all required signs displayed? 
 

o Daily operating hours pursuant to Rule64B16-28.1081, F.A.C. 
 

o “Consult your pharmacist regarding the availability of a less expensive 
generically equivalent drug and the requirements of Florida law” pursuant 
to Section 465.025(7), F.S. 

 
o Prescription Department Closed pursuant to Rule 64B16-28.109, F.A.C. 

 
o Pharmacist meal breaks pursuant to Rule 64B16-27.400(6), F.A.C. 
 
o Patient Consultation Area pursuant to Rule 64B16-28.1035, F.A.C. 

 
_____  If compounding sterile preparations, is your pharmacy compliant with Standards 

for Compounding Sterile Preparations pursuant to Rule 64B16-27.797, F.A.C?
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INTERNET PHARMACY PERMIT APPLICATION 

 
Application Type – Please choose one of the following: 
____ New Establishment  $255 fee 
____ Change of Location  $100 fee   _______________(existing permit number)                                                                       
____ Change of Ownership (a new permit number will be issued)  $255 ________________(existing permit number)     

 

Federal Employer Identification Number: ______________________ 
1.  Corporate Name Telephone Number 

  

2.  Doing Business As (d/b/a) E-Mail Address 

  
3.  Mailing Address 
 
City State Zip 

   
4.  Physical Address 
 
City State Zip 
   
5.  List the Prescription Department Manager and submit a set of fingerprints and $48 with application.   

Name License No. Start Date  Signature 

    
6.  Contact Person Telephone Number 
  
7.  DEA Registration Number 8.  Date ready for inspection 
 
9.  Please provide the name, address, telephone number, and permit number of your prescription drug 
wholesale distributor. 
Name Telephone Number Permit Number 
   
Street Address City State Zip 
    

10. Pharmacy Technician Ratio 2:1 or 3:1 (Optional) 
 

Rule 64B16-27.410, Florida Administrative Code, provides that the prescription department manager be required to submit 
a request and receive approval from the Board of Pharmacy prior to practicing with either a 2:1 or 3:1 ratio of supervision. 
 
If you would like to apply for the Pharmacy Technician 2:1 or 3:1 ratio, you may do so by checking the appropriate selection 
below.  Selecting an option below serves as your official notification to the board office that you are requesting approval to 
practice with a 2:1 or 3:1 ratio.  The board will provide notice of application approval or denial. 
 
_____ 2:1 Ratio  _____ 3:1 Ratio 

FLORIDA BOARD OF PHARMACY 
P.O. Box 6320 
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6320 
Telephone (850) 488-0595 
http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/pharmacy 
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11.  Operating Hours 

Prescription Department Hours 

Monday-Friday: Open ________ Close: ________ 

Saturday:          Open: ________ Close: ________ 

Sunday:            Open: ________ Close: ________ 

Provide Toll-Free Telephone Number 

(       ) _______- __________ 

12.  Ownership Information 

a. Type of Ownership: _____Individual _____Corporation _____Partnership  

 ______Other: _________________________________________ 

NOTE: IF CORPORATION OR LIMITED PARTNERSHIP YOU MUST INCLUDE WITH YOUR APPLICATION A COPY OF THE ARTICLES OF 
INCORPORATION ON FILE WITH THE FLORIDA SECRETARY OF STATE'S OFFICE. 

 

b.  Are the applicants, officers, directors, shareholders, members and partners over the age of 18?         

Yes     No    

c.  Does the corporation have more than $100 million of business taxable assets in this state? 

Yes     No    If yes, provide attestation from Certified Public Accountant for previous tax 
year or Florida Corporate Income/Franchise and Emergency Excise Tax 
Return (F-1120).  If no, continue to 12d. 

d.   List all the owners and officers of the corporation.  Each person listed below having an ownership 
interest of 5 percent or greater and any person who, directly or indirectly, manages, oversees, or 
controls the operation of the applicant including officers and members of the board of directors must 
submit a set of fingerprints and fees unless you answered yes to 12c.  If 12c is yes please list the 
owners below and only submit fingerprint cards for the PDM and the representative who is signing this 
application.   If the representative has prints on file with DOH or AHCA you may provide proof and the 
requirements to submit prints for this person is met. 
Attach a separate sheet if necessary. 

Owner/Officer-Title 
Date of 
Birth 

Mailing Address, City, State, Zip Code 
% of 

Ownership 

 /     /     %

 /     /     %

 /     /     %

 /     /     %

 /     /     %

 /     /     %
Pursuant to Section 456.0635(2), Florida Statutes, questions 13 through 19 are being asked.  If you 
answer yes to any of the following questions, explain on a separate sheet providing accurate details and 
submit copies of supporting documentation. 
13.  Has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated person of the 
applicant been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, 
a felony under Chapter 409, Chapter 817, or Chapter 893, Florida Statutes; or 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 or 42 
U.S.C. ss.1395-1396?  (If no, do not answer 14.) 

 

Yes     No    

(You must include all misdemeanors and felonies, even if adjudication was 
withheld by the court, so that you would not have a record of conviction.  
Driving under the influence or driving while impaired is NOT a minor traffic 
offense for the purposes of this question.) 
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14.  Has it been more than 15 years prior to the date of this application since the sentence and 
completion of any subsequent period of probation for such conviction? 
 
Yes     No    

(If yes, explain on a separate sheet providing accurate details) 

15.  Has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated person of the 
applicant ever been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid Program pursuant to Section 
409.913, Florida Statutes?  (If no, do not answer 16.) 
 
Yes     No    

(If yes, explain on a separate sheet providing accurate details) 

16.  If the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated person of the 
applicant has been terminated, has the applicant been reinstated and in good standing with the Florida 
Medicaid Program for the most recent five years? 
 
Yes     No    

(If yes, explain on a separate sheet providing accurate details) 

17.  Has the applicant or any principal, officer, agent, managing employee, or affiliated person of the 
applicant ever been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state 
or federal government, from any other state Medicaid program or the federal Medicare program?   
(If no, do not answer 18 and 19) 
 
Yes     No    

(If yes, explain on a separate sheet providing accurate details) 

18.  Has the applicant been in good standing with a state Medicaid program or the federal Medicare 
program for the most recent five years?  
 
Yes     No    

(If yes, explain on a separate sheet providing accurate details) 

19.  Did the termination occur at least 20 years prior to the date of this application? 
 
Yes     No    

(If yes, explain on a separate sheet providing accurate details) 

20.  Are you currently registered or permitted in any other states?  If yes, provide the state, permit type 
and permit number for each permit.  Attach a separate sheet if necessary. 

Yes     No    

State Permit Type Permit Number 
   

   

   
21.  Has the applicant, affiliated person, partner, officer, director ever owned a pharmacy?  If yes, 
provide the name of the pharmacy, the state where the pharmacy is located and the status of the 
pharmacy.  Attach a separate sheet if necessary. 

Yes     No      (If yes, explain on a separate sheet providing accurate details) 

Pharmacy Name State Status 
   

   

   
22.  Has any disciplinary action ever been taken against any license, permit or registration issued to the 
applicant, affiliated person, partner, officer, director, or prescription department manager? 

No    Yes    (If yes, explain on a separate sheet providing accurate details) 
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23.  Is there any other permit issued by the Department Health located at the physical location address 
on this application? 

No    Yes    (If yes, explain on a separate sheet providing accurate details) 

24.   Has the applicant, or any officer, member or partner ever been convicted of a felony or 
misdemeanor, excluding minor traffic convictions? 

No    Yes    (You must include all misdemeanors and felonies, even if adjudication was  
                                                                                       withheld by the court, so that you would not have a record of conviction.  Driving      
                                                                                       under the influence or driving while impaired is NOT a minor traffic offense for the  
                                                                                       purposes of this question.) 

 
ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED OR YOUR APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED 

********************************************************************************************************************************
Section 456.013(1), F.S., requires that applicants supplement their applications as needed to reflect any material change in any 
circumstances or conditions stated in the application, which takes place between the initial filing of the application and the final grant or 
denial of the license, which might affect the decision of the department. 
 
I certify that the statements contained in this application are true, complete, and correct and I agree that said statements shall form the 
basis of my application and I do authorize the Florida Board of Pharmacy to make any investigations that they deem appropriate and to 
secure any additional information concerning me, and I further authorize them to furnish any information they may have or have in the 
future concerning me to any person, corporation, institution, association, board, or any municipal, county, state, or federal governmental 
agencies or units, and I understand according to the Florida Board of Pharmacy Statutes that a Pharmacy Permit may be revoked or 
suspended for presenting any false, fraudulent, or forged statement, certificate, diploma, or other thing, in connection with an application 
for a license or permit, as set forth in Section 465.015(2)(a), F.S. 
 
I hereby have sworn that these statements are true and correct and recognize that providing false information may result in disciplinary 
action against my license or criminal penalties pursuant to sections 465.016, 775.082, 775.083, and 775.084, F.S. 
 
SIGNATURE ______________________________________________ DATE_________________________ 
 (Owner or officer of establishment) 
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PHARMACY PERMIT APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
 
 
  
Keep a copy of the completed application for your records. 

 
It is recommended that you use the following checklist to help ensure that your application is 
complete.  Failure to attach any required document, or to have required documentation sent to 
the Board, will result in an incomplete application.  Final approval for inspection can not be 
granted until the application is complete.  Faxed applications will not be accepted.  
 
 
INTERNET PHARMACY PERMIT 

 
______    Application Completed (all questions answered) 
 
______    Application signed  
 
______    Pharmacy Manager or Consultant Listed with Signature 
 
______    $255.00 Fee Attached (Permit fee includes $250 application fee  

             and $5.00 unlicensed activity fee) 
 
______    Certificate of Status for the Corporation from the Secretary of  
     State 
 
______    Attach Finger Print Cards & $48.00 fee for each set of fingerprints  

                            for owner/officers who have 5% or greater and any person who  
                directly or indirectly, manages, oversees, or controls the  
                operation of the applicant including members and board of       
                directors.  If the corporation has more than $100 million in  

      business taxable assets you only have to send the prints of the  
       corporate representative and the prescription department  
      manager.  Please attach the card to the Fingerprint Form located  

     on the website at www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/pharmacy under  
     Applicant Information, Pharmacy Permit forms. 
 
______    Attach Proof from AHCA that the fingerprints are on file if   

      applicable 
 
______    Attestation for Business Taxable Assets of $100 million  

      if applicable 
 
______    Bill of Sale is required for Change of Ownership 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 


